Call no man Father

Matthew 23:9  And call no man your father upon the earth: for one is your Father, which is in heaven.

     Something came up this week and led me to recall this scripture and experience that ah ha moment when the lights went on. Historically when I heard this scripture it was one of those that would drive me crazy because I know there was obviously a good reason for it but I did not know it. I knew that we are to honor our parents and be respectful and I also know how important it is to have a father in the life of a child. So in reasoning with only that understanding I could not understand why we would do just the opposite. Finally the revelation hit me when I was listening to someone speak about generational curses and all the other junk we tend to blame our families for when God said, “This is why you only call me your Father.”

     It was not out of disrespect to my father whom I love very much but it was in recognizing my dissociation with the fleshly past and walking in my new heritage as a son of God. I mean after all how cursed is God? For real think about it God is your Father and His curses are your curses, which I will gladly take all day long since there are none, and His blessings are your blessings. Your eternal Papa has eternal life for your and eternal fellowship as He lavishes you in His eternal love. No offense to my natural father because he is a great dad, so I have been really fortunate not to have gone through some of the terrible things that so many other experience. But the great thing is no one has to let those experiences and beliefs of the past determine their destiny.

     We can literally just start walking in the fact that we can not ever be cursed and that the generational sickness, disease, garbage, baggage or whatever fungus you think you may have inherited just doesn’t have the ability to stick to you like a parasite when you realize you have the unconditional blessing of our only eternal Father as your true inheritance. If someone is still blaming or looking at their past and allowing it to determine their future then they are not getting the point which is they are a new creation in Christ Jesus and all the old history is done away with. We have a new eternal identity in Jesus given to us by our eternal Father and we can and should experience that identity from now on through out all eternity.

About Thomas Myers

The one thing I enjoy the most is helping people discover their identity in Jesus. As one starts to see who they really are and why they even exist it is so powerful to see them come to life as the bondage that has tied them down over years of false identity is broken off. It is wonderful to be free of guilt, shame and condemnation and experience unconditional love and a value for ones self that is solid and does not waiver based on circumstances. True liberty can only be found in Christ Jesus. View all posts by Thomas Myers

Leave a Reply

