God’s Desires In Our Hearts?

As I was reading through Genesis today I came across a scripture that triggered a reoccurring thought that I have. The scripture is in Genesis 24 and unfolds throughout most of that chapter. Basically Abraham sent his servant to his people to find a bride Isaac and the part that keeps causing this trigger is where as he is praying to God in his heart saying what needs to happen so he knows he has found the right person. Lo and behold as he is praying, what he is praying starts to unfold right before his eyes before he is finished. Genesis 24:45 The thought then I keep having would play out in this case as did the servant really just halfway make up this fleece of sorts to confirm he had the correct bride or did God, in knowing all things, place this information on the heart of the servant who just thought he was making this up, but something that was not totally impractical. I can not even begin to think at how many times in my life where I would get a thought just out of the blue and speak it out only to later see it come to past. The most recent bigger event for me that I can recall is with the job I am working now. Several years ago I owned a business and I was hired to do some work for a couple who worked together at a world-famous company. When they tried to describe what they did all I could see was that they really liked it. I said to myself that one day I would like to work there if it were possible. About four months prior to me writing this post my wife and I were on our way home from church and we happened to go by this business in which I looked and said out loud, “I wonder how long they are going to stay around since they are in such a financial crisis.” Only a couple of weeks later I received a phone call out of the blue from someone who had come across some information about me and asked if I would be interested in a job working for this company. At this time the funds that we had stored up from my previous job were running out and my long break from the typical work force, in which I got to spend thousands of hours in the scriptures and writing books was coming to an end. Without hesitation I said yes and the next day went in to fill out the new employee paperwork. Oh and by the way this is the strongest most profitable division of the company so it is not in any financial crisis.

     It is events like this when something stands out that makes me wonder just how much of the desires which our in our hearts are truly our own, or are they placed their by God somehow to help guide us through life. I know there have been several things work related where I have spoken a desire I have had and they have come to past. And with this being said there are desires I have now which I believe I will also see come to past just because I believe they are part of a bigger picture for my life. Now I do not think God controls us like puppets, but just as I try to give my son advice and to let him know about events and challenges he may face in the future, I think our Papa does the same thing. It is when we listen and patiently follow through, many times by just letting it happen, that we can really enjoy the peace that God desires for us.

About Thomas Myers

The one thing I enjoy the most is helping people discover their identity in Jesus. As one starts to see who they really are and why they even exist it is so powerful to see them come to life as the bondage that has tied them down over years of false identity is broken off. It is wonderful to be free of guilt, shame and condemnation and experience unconditional love and a value for ones self that is solid and does not waiver based on circumstances. True liberty can only be found in Christ Jesus. View all posts by Thomas Myers

Leave a Reply

